Android Thoughts - Opinions, News, Advice & Reviews on Android Devices

Got a Hot Tip? We Want To Hear It! Use Our Contact Form


Apple Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...





All posts tagged "review"


Thursday, December 29, 2011

Samsung Captivate Reviewed!

Posted by Jon Westfall in "Samsung Android Phones" @ 07:00 AM

http://www.engadget.com/2011/12/21/...e-glide-review/

"The QWERTY slider hasn't exactly gone the way of the dinosaur, but it's definitely approaching giant panda status. That is to say, it's become rare for a major device manufacturer to output anything other than candybar touchscreen smartphones. And why not? Slimmer, faster, beastlier is the mobile motto as of late and that's precisely what consumers seem to gravitate towards."

Samsung makes some nice phones, and the Captivate Glide doesn't look like it will be an exception. Check out the full review for more details and picture goodness!


Friday, December 23, 2011

SmartPhoneGurus Review the HTC Sensation XL

Posted by Craig Horlacher in "Android Talk" @ 11:00 AM

http://www.smartphonegurus.com/foru...ensation-xl-o2/

"The XL builds on the prior Sensation incarnations, the original machine and the Beats audio enhanced XE. With this new variant HTC have changed both the internals and externals of the machines design and in effect it is a new machine in its own right and not a part of the original Sensation family."

This is a very detailed review that covers the hardware as well as many details about the software. For me, I think making a phone these days with a 4.7" diagonal and only 480x800 resolution (only 198dpi) should be a crime. Not only is the resolution low for the size but the aspect ratio is not as good as 16:9 for holding in your hand. In other words, the Galaxy Nexus has about the same size screen but it will not be so wide in your hand due to the aspect ratio difference. Of course the Galaxy Nexus has a 720x1280 resolution too. Anyway, the Sensation XL does have a fast single core 1.5GHz processor and 768MB of RAM as well as 16GB of built in storage. Take a look at the review for more details and lots of pictures.


Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Androinica Reviews the Moto Droid Razr

Posted by Craig Horlacher in "Android News" @ 11:30 AM

http://androinica.com/2011/11/motor...id-razr-review/

"With the Droid Razr, Motorola attempts to marry the game-changing attributes of its two most important brands of the modern smartphone era. The phone is once again sleek and sharp like the latter half of its name would imply, but bold and limit-pushing like the former. So how successful is Motorola at merging form and function in its latest phone?"

If you're not familiar with the Droid Razr it's a very thin Android phone that packs a powerful 1.2GHz dual-core processor and 1GB of RAM along with 16GB of storage and it comes with an additional 16GB card. It also has a 540x960 4.3" display. This review covers a little bit of everything about it. One thing that's noteworthy is apparently the Droid Razr has better battery life than any other LTE Android phone. The reviewer also said the call quality was "really good", better than he is used to, and he doesn't mind the UI that Moto put on this thing adding that it has some nice features - much improved from the old Blur that so many people hated. On the downside he didn't love the Super AMOLED Advanced qHD display.

Read the full review for all the details. Will the Droid Razr be your next phone?


Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Androinica Reviews the Droid 3

Posted by Craig Horlacher in "Android Talk" @ 10:00 AM

http://androinica.com/2011/08/motor...s-time-to-love/

"I’ve never used the original Droid, and I’ve only heard good things, so the prospect of using an official Droid was exciting. The first week, however, I couldn’t get into the phone right away. I rarely took the Droid 3 with me because it seemed sluggish, but I finally buckled down to figure it out and came away modestly impressed with the third version of one of Motorola and Verizon’s most popular brands."

This is a good concise review of the Motorola Droid 3. Though I'm not a fan of physical keyboards on phones in general I really don't like them without dedicated numeric keys. I was glad to see they finally fixed that and added a new top row with numbers. I'm also glad they added MicroHDMI. The fact that it can record 1080p video is a nice touch as well. Also, I was glad they finally bumped the screen up from 3.7" to 4". I think screen size is so critical when you're using your finger, and not a stylus, to push on-screen buttons. I was very surprised that the reviewer found it slow at first. I haven't used it but wouldn't have expected that from any dual-core phone running Gingerbread.

Do you have a Droid 3? If so, what's your favorite feature? How has the performance been? If you don't have a Droid 3 does it have the features you're looking for?


Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Status Symbol: HTC Status Reviewed

Posted by Karey Westfall in "HTC Android Phones" @ 02:00 AM

http://www.engadget.com/2011/07/12/...tatus-hands-on/

"As you can imagine, AT&T was eager to show off its newly minted HTC Status at its holiday preview event, right up there along with a blue Xperia Play and the HP Touchpad 4G."

Another great phone has hit the market for AT&T! The HTC Status is AT&T's first Android 2.3 phone and delivers some great features. Check out the video and review for a comprehensive look!


Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Telecom New Zealand Gives Away HTC Sensations, Sponsors a Blog

Posted by Kevin Jackson in "HTC Android Phones" @ 12:00 PM

http://www.geekzone.co.nz/TelecomTech

"Telecom New Zealand was the first (or second) operator to launch the HTC Sensation and we are running a sponsored blog for them. Basically they gave three of these to select Geekzone users (based on their interactions with others, Android knowledge, etc) and they are writing blog posts reviewing the device.

"Every second or third day for the next four weeks there's a new blog post about the HTC Sensation. Some comparing with other Android devices, some specific to the device, some specific to the operator."

Even though the blog is sponsored by a New Zealand carrier, the reviews should be illuminating to anyone who loves HTC's latest device. Check it out. And while you're there, be sure to visit the main Geekzone site for some good insight into other technology related topics.


Friday, July 8, 2011

Sensational Review: HTC Sensation 4G

Posted by Karey Westfall in "HTC Android Phones" @ 04:00 AM

http://www.digitaltrends.com/cell-p...tion-4g-review/

"Earlier this year, we gave a positive review to the HTC Inspire 4G on AT&T. Well, if you liked what that phone had to offer, you're going to love this one."

The HTC Sensation 4G is already available for purchase but if you are still debating whether to pick it up or not, check out the review. It will help you decide whether you want to plunk down some change on the new phone!


Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Updated Galaxy Tab 10.1 Reviewed; Includes Honeycomb

Posted by Karey Westfall in "Android Slates/Tablets & Accessories" @ 07:00 AM

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/revi...tm_campaign=rss

"When it released the original Galaxy Tab last year, Samsung became one of the first mainstream hardware vendors to deliver an Android tablet. With its new Galaxy Tab 10.1, Samsung kept the Galaxy Tab name and branding, but the new device has little else in common with its predecessor. Don't let the "10.1" fool you-this is all new."

The Galaxy Tab has proven itself to be one heck of a product! But it get's even better with the new Galaxy Tab 10.1 which includes Honeycomb! Check out this comprehensive review of the new Tab and let us know if you will be purchasing it!


Thursday, June 16, 2011

Insanely Thorough Review: The Galaxy S II Vs The HTC Sensation

Posted by Jason Lee in "Android Articles, Resources & Developer" @ 05:00 PM

http://www.smartphonegurus.com/foru...ung-galaxy-sii/

"Recently two new 'super phones' have been unleashed into the marketplace on the Android platform and thanks to our good friends at O2 UK we've been given the chance to produce a head-to-head review of both machines. We are of course talking dual core here and that means the Sensation from HTC and the Galaxy SII from Samsung."

I don't think you'll find a better source of information if you're even remotely curious about the Galaxy S II or the Sensation. The folks over at Smartphone Gurus have put together quite the extensive comparison/review of these two amazing devices. If you're in the market for a new Android device I strongly recommend heading over and reading through this extensive write-up. I really want to replace my poor old Nexus One with a Galaxy S II. Reading this sure didn't help my restraint any. :)


Tuesday, April 26, 2011

T-Mobile Sidekick 4G Reviewed

Posted by Karey Westfall in "Android Mobile Operators" @ 12:00 PM

http://www.tmonews.com/2011/04/tmon...he-sidekick-4g/

"When I received the Sidekick 4G in the mail from T-Mobile, I wondered what T-Mobile hoped to accomplish with the Sidekick line. Several years ago, when the news originally broke that the Sidekick line was being killed off, existing users and ardent supporters of the fabled Sidekick line were understandably upset."

Interested in the Sidekick 4G from T-mobile? Check out this review and let us know what you think!


Sunday, April 10, 2011

In Europe? HTC Desire S on O2 Reviewed

Posted by Craig Horlacher in "Android News" @ 07:00 PM

http://www.smartphonegurus.com/foru...tc-desire-s-o2/

"One of the most popular Android smartphones of the last year was the HTC Desire, which maintained the number one spot in a fair number of tech-web site ranking systems. HTC have now built on that success by bringing to the market an updated replacement machine - the Desire S. The 'S' model maintains the sleek svelte 'medium' form factor but brings new capabilities and technology to the machine which brings it fully up to date."

SmartPhoneGurus did a thorough review of the HTC Desire S on the O2 network in the UK. The popular original model from last year was the HTC Desire which was very similar to the Nexus One. I don't agree with the reviewer that this version is "fully up to date". It only has 1.1GB of built-in storage which I don't think is enough for a current phone. It will take a MicroSDHC card and it does have 768MB of RAM which is great. After checking on Wikipedia I found that it also has the second generation Snapdragon CPU which is good because that means it has the Adreno 205 which is a solid GPU, much better than the sub-par GPU of last years HTC phones. Is anyone interested in this phone? Besides the built-in storage it seems like a very capable device. Check out the review for more details.


Wednesday, April 6, 2011

In the UK? Here's a Review of the LG Optimus One.

Posted by Craig Horlacher in "Android News" @ 05:00 AM

http://www.smartphonegurus.com/foru...ne-on-three-uk/

"The LG Optimus One has nice lines, plus a neat matt black finish that has a very nice aluminum strip which elegantly forms a silver band around the case. The device feels nice, and being on the smaller side it sits very well in the hand. It also carries a good weight that adds to the solid feel, and gives an impression of good robust construction."

This is a very thorough review of the LG Optimus One for Three's network in the UK. It has a HVGA 3.2" screen and a 600MHz CPU. I wouldn't recommend an Android phone to anyone with less than a 480x800 3.7" screen but I guess that's just my opinion. The CPU could work depending on what you need it for but I think the display is pretty important. I guess if you're looking for a low end Android phone this may be a good one for you. Check out the review for all the info. Is this what you've been looking for?


Monday, April 4, 2011

Gingerbread Update and $1 Price Tag Make Xperia X10 a Bit More Attractive

Posted by Kevin Jackson in "Android News" @ 12:00 PM

http://www.engadget.com/2011/04/03/...ract-gingerbre/

"Okay, so a couple of weeks back, we wouldn't have cared if Best Buy was willing to give us money to carry the Xperia X10, we still would have steered clear of its flawed UI and outdated software."

After a less than stellar review last August, Engadget holds out some hope for the X10 with the promise of an update to Gingerbread. Anyone here have this device? What do you think of it? Will it benefit from the update to Gingerbread, or is it a case of too little, too late?


Friday, April 1, 2011

Engadget Reviews The Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc: They're Getting Better

Posted by Jason Lee in "Android News" @ 02:30 PM

http://www.engadget.com/2011/03/30/...ria-arc-review/

"Like all good things Sony Ericsson, the Xperia Arc didn't wait for an official announcement to make itself known."

There are two product names that are not allowed in my house, Apple and Sony. I've been burned enough by the "if you don't buy all of our stuff it really isn't going to work well for you" ecosystem. Memory Stick anyone? Though it appears that if you try and squeeze a little Ericsson into the mix things aren't quite as bad.

All of Sony Ericsson's Android exploits to date have been what I would call a borderline tragedy. Horribly outdated versions of Android, terribly slow and buggy custom UIs, and not a drop of support or even an update. The Arc on the other hand might actually be an okay device. Almost. It's still skinned to death yet the most annoying features of SE's previous Android adventures, Time Scape and Media Scape, have been reduced to simple widgets which you can quickly drag to the trash (where they belong). You are then left with a somewhat stock, yet overly skinned, Android experience. An absolute surprise is that the device will actually ship with the latest version of Android, 2.3! The SE launcher can be fixed with some Launcher Pro love, so if you can get passed the mess they've made of the stock messaging and contact apps and such this might not be too bad of a smart phone. What are your thoughts on Sony Ericsson's latest Android attempt?


Saturday, March 19, 2011

A Loud Rumble - Engadget Reviews The Thunderbolt

Posted by Jon Westfall in "HTC Android Phones" @ 07:30 AM

http://www.engadget.com/2011/03/18/...derbolt-review/

"At a quick glance, without any background information, your eyes might tell you that the HTC Thunderbolt is little more than a Verizon remake of Sprint's EVO 4G and AT&T's Inspire 4G. After all -- like its contemporaries -- the Thunderbolt features a spacious 4.3-inch WVGA display, 8 megapixel camera, and dual-LED flash. In reality, though, the Thunderbolt is something more: from the Inspire, it borrows a better, crisper display with a wider viewing angle and a newer-generation (though still single-core) Qualcomm Snapdragon processor. From the EVO 4G, meanwhile, it borrows a cool integrated kickstand and the addition of a second "4G" radio, making this a spec Frankenstein of sorts -- the best of both worlds. Of course, instead of Sprint's WiMAX for that 4G radio, the Thunderbolt grants you access to Verizon's LTE network -- a network so fresh, it still has that new-network smell. There's a lot of horsepower here. In other words, the Thunderbolt has a very real opportunity to be the finest 4.3-inch device HTC has ever made -- for the moment, anyway. Let's see how it fares."

Not a bad little contender for "Best Android Smartphone" can be found in the HTC Thunderbolt. The only problem with crowning it as such is that these days, the new Best Smartphone comes out every few weeks it seems! A fun review by Engadget.


Thursday, March 10, 2011

Xoom Review at Ars Technica

Posted by Craig Horlacher in "Android News" @ 11:00 AM

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/revi...tm_campaign=rss

"Although the Xoom has a lot to offer, the product feels very incomplete. A surprising number of promised hardware and software features are not functional at launch and will have to be enabled in future updates. The Xoom's quality is also diminished by some of the early technical issues and limitations that we encountered in Honeycomb. Google's nascent tablet software has a ton of potential, but it also has some feature gaps and rough edges that reflect its lack of maturity."

This is a very in depth review just as you would expect from Ars. If you're considering buying the Xoom you should definitely check out this review first to get a better idea if it really is the tablet for you. While many great features are pointed out there are also a lot of warning signs brought up.


Friday, February 25, 2011

Xoom Review Shows Promise

Posted by Craig Horlacher in "Android News" @ 06:00 AM

http://technolog.msnbc.msn.com/_new...has-competition

"The Android tablets out on the market have been weak in the face of the iPad. But after testing out Motorola's Xoom, it's clear the first Android 3.0 Honeycomb tablet has what it takes to compete head to head. Though it's got some growing pains ahead, the young tablet is already a contender. All that's needed before it can really gain momentum is a lineup of killer apps — and a better price."

I think this is a very well rounded and fair review. I still don't understand why a device that doubles, or more, all hardware of the iPad is "over-priced" when it's only $100 more at worst and the OS is much better tailored to a tablet form factor. Anyway, check out this review and give us your thoughts! Did you buy a Xoom? Tell us what you think of it so far. I've seen some reports of it freezing fairly often. If that's the case it will have a hard time catching the iPad.


Friday, December 24, 2010

In Depth Review: Samsung Galaxy Tab

Posted by Karey Westfall in "Android Slates/Tablets & Accessories" @ 03:00 AM

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4062/...ndtech-review/1

"The iPad started shipping in April, and since then it has basically had the tablet market to itself. Literally, in the six months after the iPad's release, it didn't have a single direct competitor."

Still not sure if you want to get a Samsung Galaxy Tab? Take a look at this comprehensive review to help you make up your mind! Plus, this review has a comparison of the Tab with the iPad and other Android phones. So read on and save yourself a trip to the store to demo a Tab.


Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Totally Tabular: The Sprint Samsung Galaxy Tab Reviewed!

Posted by Jon Westfall in "Android Slates/Tablets & Accessories" @ 07:00 AM

Product Category: Android Tablet
Manufacturer: Samsung
Where to Buy: Sprint
Price: $399 (w/ 2 yr. agreement; $29.95/mo data plan)
Specifications: 7 inch 1024x600 Touchscreen, Android 2.2, Dual Cameras (1.3 MP Front, 3.0 MP Rear), Mobile hotspot, 802.11 b/g/n, GPS, 2 GB Onboard Memory, 16 GB SD Card Included, 4,000 mA battery, 1.0 Ghz AP S5PC110 Processor, Bluetooth 2.1

Pros:

  • Comfortable in one hand or two, portrait or landscape;
  • Samsung's customizations of Android 2.2 are useful and beautiful;
  • Excellent battery life.

Cons:

  • Proprietary connector - no micro-USB and no charging over USB;
  • Low resolution cameras;
  • Smaller size, higher price.

Summary: In a world where seemingly everyone wants to release an Android based tablet, Samsung has put forth the Galaxy Tab, a device that sports two cameras to the iPad's none, shaves off a few inches, and is popping up on networks all over the place. Recently I was able to spend a few weeks with Sprint's version of the Samsung Galaxy Tab... so was it Tabtacular or does it leave your slatesmitten soul sad? Read on and find out! Read more...


Monday, December 13, 2010

Nexus S Review: The Good, The Bad, And The OMG I Want One!

Posted by Jason Lee in "Samsung Android Phones" @ 09:30 AM

http://www.engadget.com/2010/12/10/nexus-s-review/

"It can be difficult to review a phone like Google's Nexus S in a world already populated by so many outstanding Android devices. Not only does the manufacturer of this phone make a series of handsets that are all essentially the same (the Galaxy S line), but countless other OEMs are cranking away on hardware for the platform. Of course, the Nexus S is a decidedly different phone altogether. Picking up where the company's Nexus One left off, the S continues Google's legacy of creating standalone, "pure Android" phone experiences, seemingly aimed less at the mainstream and more towards developers."

Here it is, folks. Engadget gave the Nexus S a thorough going over in their review of the device and I have to say, it's pretty swanky. I'm still not sure that I'm ready to ditch my Nexus One for this tasty new treat but it sure is tempting. My decision balances on knowing that there is much better hardware than this right around the corner vs. knowing that this will probably be the only "pure" Google device for quite some time. I do NOT want a carrier branded device with some crazy UI tweaks or bloatware. Plus I just dropped way too much money on desk and car docks for my Nexus One. If an AT&T banded version of this device drops early next year I may have a much lighter wallet... but we shall see. Anyone out there plan on picking up a shiny new Nexus S? If so can I play with it? ;)


Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Sponsored links